2023 NativeVision Scholarship Recipients Announced!

The 2023 NativeVision online scholarship form is now closed. The 2024 NativeVision online scholarship form will be available in March, 2024.

For more information, please contact Marlena Hammen at mhammen@jhu.edu.

2023 Scholarship Winners

August Bibbs-Nauni (Comanche Nation)

August will be attending Oklahoma University to pursue a degree in Psychology. After researching the disproportionate mental health issues within Native American communities, including post-traumatic stress, substance abuse, and suicide, it became clear that being a therapist was the track he wanted to follow to service his Native communities. He played baseball three years of high school and was responsible for the creation of an electronic Native American resource hub at his school, Destiny Christian School. The resource hub assists students in grades 10 -12 with college prep, native community involvement, info on native student programs and resources.

Julia Gomez (Ysleta Del Sur Pueblo)

Julia is a graduate of Del Valle High School in El Paso, Texas, and a proud tribal member of the Ysleta Del Sur Pueblo. She was on the cheerleading squad all four years of high school and was very involved in volunteering at her school and community. She has been involved with the Ysleta Del Sur Tribal Youth Council since 2017 and currently serves as Youth Governor. The council takes pride in the Ysletta culture and strives to build the next generation of Tiguan leaders. Julia is attending the University of Texas at El Paso in the fall to obtain a Doctor of Pharmacy degree and plans to return to her pueblo to work for her Community Health Clinic.

Angela Kakaruk (Knik Tribe)

Angela’s career goal is to become an eye doctor working in rural Alaskan communities. She will begin her journey at Vanderbilt University and major in Medicine, Health and Society, equipping her with the knowledge to understand America's complex healthcare system and the unique challenges facing Indigenous communities. Angela intends to advocate for more Indigenous representation in healthcare, promoting the need for physicians in rural areas and awareness for equitable access to healthcare in rural areas. She played piano during her high school years at Colony High in School Wasilla, Alaska and practiced ballet for 14 years, obtaining the highest level of ballet/pointe at her studio.

Alex Roath (Chickasaw)

Alex has been involved in cross country, track and basketball at Wright City High School, in Wright City, Oklahoma all four years of high school. He will be attending Northeastern State University in the Fall of 2023 and majoring in Integrative Biology. His interest in the great outdoors began at a very early age. With a degree in Integrative Biology, Alex’s dream is to pursue a career in Wildlife Biology where he would take what he learns about Indigenous fishing and water management practices and strengthen that understanding using science and modern methods.

Past Recipients

2022 Recipients
Lauryn Maiyuraq Elyssa Nanouk Jones
(Native Village of Unalakleet)
Landen Lee
(Cherokee Nation)
Nicole Leonna Long
(Sierra Miwok)
Rylie Claire Spaulding (Muskogee Creek Nation)

2021 Recipients
Kai Whitmore (Inupiaq Eskimo)
Damien Thompson (Kaherokwakeron)

2020 Recipients
Joleece Pecore
Rylee Desautel

2019 Recipients
Danielle Sandia (Jemez Pueblo)
Peyton Glenn (Cherokee)

2018 Recipients
Raily Reed (Navajo)
Shayla French (Chippewa)

2017 Recipients
Tyra Autumn Gloshay (White Mountain Apache)
Shelby Snyder (Navajo)

2016 Recipients
Jonathan Barbee (Cherokee)
Meeya Yazzie (Navajo)

2015 Recipients
Jacob Ty Belin (Navajo)
Shanell Natalie Yenchik (Navajo)

2014 Recipients
Zoey Hooper (Navajo)
Tyson Scott (Choctaw Nation) 

2013 Recipients
Christianna Wilson (Navajo)
Ashley Holiday (Navajo)

2012 Recipients
Briana Dohi
Jhett Williams

2011 Recipients
Alannah M. Yazzie (Navajo)
Jennifer Begay (Navajo)

2010 Recipients
Shelby Bobelu
Sara Chase

2009 Recipients
Katherine Atkins (Cherokee)
Michael Tate (White Mountain Apache)
Noel Hinton (White Mountain Apache)

2008 Recipients
Aaron Celario (Navajo)
Dion Francis III (Caddo Nation of Oklahoma)
Krishana Coriz (Santo Domingo)

 2007 Recipients
Albert Her Many Horses (Sioux)
Ethan Amos (White Mountain Apache)

2006 Recipients
Billy Wayne Rankin (Western Cherokee)
Chase Andrew Velasquez (White Mountain Apache)

2005 Recipients
Micheon Gorman (Navajo)
Tara Hueston-Navajo Erik Yazzie (Navajo)

2004 Recipients
Jessica Marie Curtis (Cherokee)
Marcus Brian Dunn (Skaroreh Katenuaka Nation-Tuscarora)
Joannie Suina (Cochiti Pueblo)

2003 Recipients
Jason Langager (Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians)
Dislorei Small – Rodriguez (Northern Cheyenne Tribe)

2002 Recipients
Alvin Garcia (Santo Domingo Pueblo)
Karla Martin (Poarch Band of Creek Indians)
Frances Ruiz (White Mountain Apache Tribe)

2001 Recipients
Leland Begay (White Mountain Apache Tribe)
Kimberly Begolin (White Mountain Apache Tribe)